CHRYSLERS AT CARIBBEAN 2017 REPORT

Chryslers at Caribbean - Display Day Results Sunday 22nd October 2017

The 2017 Chryslers at Caribbean Display Day was again a bit of a wet affair, with some parts of Melbourne decidedly wet, including at Caribbean Gardens which only showed glimpses of sunshine throughout the day.

It was again heartening to see and experience the help from MANY Club members who turned up early to marshal the cars and to begin the judging. All officials were fitted with fluoro jackets, and they worked together getting the cars in place, although with the numbers down on previous years it was easier to get them parked.

A big thanks goes to all the marshals, those on the entry gate, and those who went on to judge the various categories under Stuart Elders direction. At the end of the day, the variety of cars was excellent, the variety was great to see, and everyone had a great day, especially if they had umbrellas or rain jackets

Of course the day is also only possible due to the generosity of our sponsors, and they were again very supportive this year. This included:

- Knox Chrysler Dodge Jeep Dealership
- Shannon's Insurance
- All Gassed Up Die cast and Collectibles
- Jim Robinson Dodge & Plymouth Parts Australia
- S.L.D Automotive Services
- ELKO
- Des & Grays Automotive Services
- Bendigo Bank, Mooroolbark Community Branch
- Watermans Collision Centre
- Crossover Car Conversions
- Valid Technologies
- Precision Plumbing & Gas

The prize winners on the day (and sponsors) were as follows:

Best Vintage or Veteran (Sponsored by Valid Technologies)

- 1. Jim Lambert, 1929 Chrysler 75 (74118H)
- 2. Peter Lambert, 1929 Chrysler 65 (5-019)

1931 to 1942 (Sponsored by Jim Robinson Dodge & Plymouth Parts)

- 1. Don Lomax, 1941 Plymouth Coupe (0646-SR)
- 2. Peter & Kay McGregor, 1942 Dodge Coupe (71948H)

1946 to 1954 (Sponsored by Shannon's Insurance)

- 1. Michael Monks, 1948 Dodge Sedan (13136H)
- 2. John Plowman, 1948 Dodge Sedan (JP0001)

1955 to 1960 (Sponsored by Jim Robinson, Dodge & Plymouth Parts)

- 1. Robert Bond, 1959 Custom Royal Conv (OIA6473)
- 2. David Pace, 1957 Chrysler Imperial (73207H)

1961 to 1968 (Sponsored by Watermans Collision Centre)

- 1. Bryan Perry, 1968 Plymouth Convertible (76700H)
- Robert & Jan Krueger, 1965 Chrysler Newport (73378H)

R & S (Sponsored by Des & Grays Automotive Services)

- 1. Greg Eade, 1961 Dodge Lancer (EGV711)
- 2. Wayne Rolands, 1961 S Series Valiant (1FJ9PY)

AP5-AP6-VC (Sponsored by Elko/Valiant Spares & Repairs)

- 1. Darren O'Rourke, 1967 VC Valiant (66580H)
- 2. Daniel Preatz, 1966 AP6 Valiant (34213H)

VF-VE-VG (Sponsored by SLD Automotive Services)

- 1. Matthew Turner, 1970 VG Regal Sedan (KTS023)
- 2. Cameron Beam, 1968 VE Valiant Wagon (66580H)

VH-VJ-VK (Sponsored by Des & Grays Automotive Services)

- 1. Ahmet Ugur, 1974 Valiant VJ Regal (ICI750)
- 2. Chris Hourmouzis, 1971 VH Hardtop (85627H)

CL-CM (Sponsored by All Gassed Up)

- 1. Mark Collier, 1979 CL Chrysler Le Baron (17805H)
- 2. Craig Hambridge, 1979 Chrysler Regal (58370H)

Charger (Sponsored by Des & Grays Automotive Services)

- 1. Shaun Jesse, 1973 VJ Charger (770-340)
- 2. Gary & Brendan Dobell, 1973 VJ Charger (74117H)

1968 - On, Muscle Car (Sponsored by Valid Technologies)

- 1. Nigel Spragg, 1973 Plymouth Road Runner (71667H)
- 2. Gary Fox, 1972 Dodge Challenger (61819H)

Best Modified (Sponsored by SLD Automotive Services)

- 1. Stephan Vlahos, 1972 Valiant Charger (HMI770)
- 2. Glen Jackobson, 1948 Dodge Pickup (MEAN48)

Best Original (unrestored) (Sponsored by Shannon's Insurance)

- 1. John Flakas, 1961 Valiant Sedan (80698H)
- 2. Ray Romanidis, 1964 Dodge Polara (XUN066)

Best New Age Mopar Sponsored by Crossover Motors

- 1. Debbie ?, 2017 Hellcat Challenger (ALI484)
- 2. Rob McLean, Dodge RT Avenger (WUX862)

Best PT Cruiser (Sponsored by Knox Chrysler Jeep Dodge)

- 1. Wendy Frewin, Chrysler PT Cruiser (XLNT-PT)
- 2. Dorothy Devries, Chrysler PT Cruiser (TLA902)

Best 300C (Sponsored by Knox Chrysler Dodge Jeep)

- 1. Anthony Toyne, Chrysler 300C (AEG347)
- 2. Dale Butterfield, Chrysler 300C (TRUCRZ)

Ladies Choice (Sponsored by All Gassed Up)

1. Glenn Jacobson, 1948 Dodge Pickup (MEAN48)

Financial members of the Chrysler Restorers Club of Australia (Vic) inc were also eligible for the following awards:

Ern & Eileen Ryde Perpetual Trophy

This is a perpetual trophy presented to the Club by life members Ern & Eileen Ryde and is to be awarded to the owner of the best commercial vehicle judged at the Annual Display Day.

1. Arnold Patch, 1947 Dodge Utility (TKB089)

John Bulmer- was awarded the 2016 Winners trophy (Elko/Valiant Spares and Repairs)

David Mills Perpetual Trophy

This trophy was donated to the Club by Life Member, David Mills, to encourage the standard of restoration of Chrysler built vehicles. It is to be awarded to the owner of the vehicle judged best under concourse conditions at the Annual Display Day.

1. George Lazarou, 1976 Chrysler by Chrysler Sed. (60769H) Stephen Gay- was awarded the 2016 Winners trophy (Bendigo Bank Mooroolbark Community Branch)

George Porter Perpetual Trophy

This is a perpetual trophy presented to the Club by Foundation

Member George Porter which is to be awarded annually to the owner of the most improved restoration project during a twelve month period.

1. Bill Dunne, 1965 Humber Vogue (26380) Arthur Dobell- was awarded the 2016 Winners trophy (Precision Plumbing)

President's Perpetual Trophy

This is a cup awarded by the President of the Chrysler Restorers Club of Australia (Vic) Inc. at his discretion, for the most interesting, attractive or unusual vehicle, in his opinion, displayed at the Annual Display Day

1. Frank Mercuri, 1970 Chrysler 300 Hurst Edition Coupe Theo & Lucinda Vennix- was awarded the 2016 Winners trophy (Knox Chrysler)

We now look forward to next years event. Put it in your diary Chryslers at Caribbean, Sunday 21st October 2018

Chryslers at Caribbean - 2017 -

FIRST PRIZE TROPHY WINNERS



PERPETUAL TROPHY WINNERS





Chrysler Restorers Club of Australia Victoria Inc

FIRST PRIZE TROPHY WINNERS



PERPETUAL TROPHY WINNERS



